Feeling Happy vs. Having Joy

I have recently come to the realization that there is quite a difference between feeling happy and having joy. While both are definitely great, one is permanent and one is temporary. At first I found this thought rather challenging, but the more I think about it, the more I can accept it and be quite satisfied with the idea. I love the feelings of happiness, but they come and go. It is comforting to know that even in my times of sadness I can find joy. I am a daughter of a king; I have a father in Heaven who loves me so much he would send his son as a sacrifice for me, and this should ALWAYS give me joy! I have a God who wants to know me, who wants to have a relationship with me, who wants to spend time with me, the joy in that overwhelms me! I may not always FEEL joy but I do always HAVE it. I think that as humans, we get caught up in emotions and feelings much too easily. “Nothing more than feeeeeel-iiings” ah, but life is so much more than feelings! What a terrifying world we would live in if everything was based on the way we felt, oh the scary decisions that would be made in a world propelled by emotion. If it wasn’t for Jesus, however, I would certainly let  my feelings get the best of me. Thank you Lord that I can turn to you in the times when my feelings become too much for me.   “…the joy of the Lord is your strength” Nehemiah 8:10

One thought on “Feeling Happy vs. Having Joy

  1. Hello from snowy Bayfield.. Just thing about you and wanted to say I am filled with joy that Jesus is working in your life and that Happiness is from Him and not the things of the world. The closer you walk with Him the more He floods you with Joy and Happiness.
    Love you so much.
    Always Granny

Leave a Reply

