2012 is Shaping Up to be Quite an Exciting Year!!!

With a new year, God has given me a new refreshment. We are well into the January quarter here on the Kona YWAM base, and it has been incredible so far. I spent the last quarter still thinking about what was next, getting anxious for something else, thinking about home, and complaining about Hawaii. Seriously though, who complains about Hawaii?? There was just something a little bit off with me. I was enjoying it here to a point, but being rather stubborn about accepting where the Lord had sent me. I finally realize it’s time to get over myself and that I need to live in the now, be excited about where God has brought me. I actually do like Hawaii when I don’t keep myself busy thinking about other places. So, now that I’m accepting it, I’m having an amazing time here and growing much more; both in my friendships here and in my time spent with Jesus. And now He is opening doors I never expected, amazing doors, things I’m very excited to tell you all about now.

I recently had to make a decision. I was invited to go a couple different places. The first was to Israel. An outreach team going there asked if I would consider going with them to document their time in ministry, both in photos and in writing. I was also invited to go to Nigeria with my leader, Susi, one of the founders of photogenX. After much prayer and consideration, I have chosen Nigeria. It was a tough decision though! I was so honored to have been asked to join the team going to Israel, and although I’m not going, it has been a blessing getting to know the leaders of that team.

So, we head April 13. I don’t know how long or what exactly we will be doing. I do know it will be an amazing journey. Susi has been asked to speak in some specific places to different groups. We are still praying about what else we’ll do while there. I’ve heard Nigeria is quite unlike anywhere else in the world. I will try to go with no expectations and just see where God leads us!

I am also in the works of planning a summer outreach to the Olympics in London. After doing some research, our team has discovered what a big problem human trafficking is at major sporting events. It is an issue at the Super Bowl, the World Cup, and will be at the Olympics too. We have discussed going in with some sort of small scale anti-trafficking campaign from a journalistic point of view. We are praying into how to go about this, and I will write more again when we feel some more direction.

I have also been thinking about staffing a Discipleship Training School (DTS) that would begin in September. As staff, I would be walking alongside students as they go through the intense and life changing lectures of a DTS and then lead a team overseas on outreach. This is also something I will continue to pray into and see where God leads me.

For right now, I am still involved in working on the ongoing projects with photogenX here. I do a lot of research on some very heavy issues of social injustice. I am also now helping to put this information online, on our new website we hope to have up very soon. It’s an amazing project to be a part of, but a learning process as well.

As you can see, I have many things to look forward to this year. I wrote in a previous post about asking God to challenge me in a few different areas, and all these open doors are answers to those prayers. I am so thankful to be here with so many wonderful opportunities. I thank Jesus for giving me such an exciting life to lead; I could never do this stuff on my own.

As I’ve mentioned before, it is so great to have people all over who partner with me in prayer. I do have several prayer requests.

-Please pray for our planning for Nigeria. We have a lot to do in a fairly short amount of time!

-Please pray for financial provision. I have a lot of exciting things planned, but unfortunately, they all take money that I don’t have yet.

-Please pray for clarity and wisdom as I seek the Lord on all these different endeavors.

If you would like to partner with me in all of these exciting opportunities, please click on the Support tab at the top of this page. Thank you for your support!

2 thoughts on “2012 is Shaping Up to be Quite an Exciting Year!!!

  1. Aubrey!! I am SO excited for you and the AMAZING doors that God has opened in this season of your life. You are such an encouragement to me. I will be praying for continued discernment on what you will be doing in Nigeria and that God will just continually increase the love in your heart for that nation as you prepare to go there.

    Blessings from S. Africa ❤
    Tatiana

Leave a Reply

