I Fell Off a Cliff

Really.

A little over 2 weeks ago, on the 1st of July, I had a very unfortunate accident. It was a beautiful Sunday, and I had just finished eating a delicious lunch at my favorite restaurant here in Kona. We sat overlooking our pretty little piece of the Pacific, and a friend even bought my tacos! It started out as such a nice, relaxing day. With our tummies full, we decided to go out for some adventure. We drove south of town to a spot the locals call the end of the world. It’s a popular place for cliff jumping. I’ve jumped off a few times in the past and definitely liked the thrill of the free fall, but this time I didn’t much feel like that much adrenaline pumping through my veins. I just wanted to participate as a spectator. I sat at the edge of the 40 foot pile of uneven volcanic rock, a little too close to the edge. The fearless men had jumped in, and we were all cheering on the one other girl. Just as she was about to leap, I stood up in excitement, and I guess I lost my footing because I tumbled backward. I don’t totally remember much about that moment. I do remember a feeling of sheer terror, and very clearly thinking, oh *** (insert a variety of 4 letter words here), I’m falling off a cliff now… And this is where my memory ends.

A miracle, an absolute miracle!

Two friends, Matthew and Jason, were in the water and watched the whole thing happen. I fell backward, hit the rocks, spun a few times, hit the rocks again, spun some more, and landed in the water. I wasn’t unconscious. The moment I hit the water I popped right up with eyes wide open. There was a boat not far from where we were. In all the times I’ve been to the end of the world before, I’ve not once seen a boat there. The two friends were swimming with me, and waved the boat over. I do remember lying on the floor of the boat and Matthew holding the gash on my head and keeping me from looking down at my knee. Before I knew it, I was strapped to a board and in the ambulance headed to the hospital.

I was in the emergency room about 6 hours. Matthew stayed with me the whole time, helping in several ways. He made the appropriate phone calls and took notes on the doctor’s instructions because I certainly was in no shape to remember. A couple others stopped by to offer some support and prayer. Overall, it was not a terrible experience. I had just about every part of my body x-rayed. The only broken bone is on the top of my foot. I can’t believe I didn’t break anything else with a fall like that. God designed our bodies so much tougher than we tend to give them credit for. My other serious injuries were my head (a pretty sizable gash just above my temple, 4 stitches, concussion), my hand (pretty big chunk of skin missing and a sprained thumb), my knee (10 stitches, lots of pain and swelling but no breaks or tears), and cuts and scrapes from head to toe. While, yes, I’ve been in quite a lot of pain and haven’t been able to walk for the last 2 weeks, things could have been so much worse.

I was so blessed to have amazing friends help me out, especially during the first week of recovery. My right knee and my left foot are both injured, and it has made walking quite the challenge. Friends were going to the store for me, bringing me groceries, making me meals (and making me eat), carrying me up and down stairs, making sure I was taking the meds I needed to, taking me to doctor appointments, bringing me movies and teddy bears, and even helping me shower. It was incredible to see my community of people here really come around me and help out. I’m not one to normally ask for help (other than from my parents), so it’s been a good, humbling learning experience for me. In the past, whenever I’ve been seriously injured or sick, I have had the luxury of my mom being near by. Now that I’m farther from home, even though I’m 26 and fairly independent, I now know there’s nothing like having your mom take care of you. She and my dad were much farther even from home, they were halfway around the world in India when this happened. But God provided, and I was very well taken care of.

It has been a rough recovery, not only physically, but emotionally as well. I’ve had flashbacks and nightmares about falling off the cliff. Through these times though, friends here have spoken a lot of encouragement. It is continually brought up what a miracle this whole thing has been, on the small scale and the big. I really am so thankful. I’m excited to see what God has in store for me in the next season of my life. Thank you to everyone who has been praying for me, and thank you for continuing to pray as I go through this slow recovery process.

I do have some specific prayer requests:

-Please pray for the few people who witnessed my accident who do not know the Lord, pray that they will come to the full realization of the miracle that occurred right before their eyes and that it would lead them to an understanding of who God is

-Please pray for my physical recovery: that my broken foot would heal without complication, that I would regain mobility in my knee, and that the headaches would stop

-Please pray for my emotional recovery, that the nightmares and flashbacks would end

-Please pray for financial provision. I don’t have health insurance, and oh my, the medical bills are beginning to stack up. I’m well into the thousands so far, and I haven’t received all my bills yet. I don’t have this, as my monthly support only just covers my rent and some groceries. I know God has a plan, He did after all save my life. Please also pray that I would not become overwhelmed and discouraged because of money.

Thank you for your support and prayers! If you feel led to donate in this extreme time of financial need, please find details of how to do so under the SUPPORT tab at the top.

Leave a Reply

